Contact Us

Management Team

Umbeck, Paul
Department Director
Paul.Umbeck@wisc.edu
608-262-9739


Berger, Darren
Assistant Director; ETS Manager; Facilities Engineer
Darren.Berger@wisc.edu
608-263-2187 (landline); 608-209-8466 (cell)


Kleppe, Chris
Senior/Lifesaving Station Supervisor
Chris.Kleppe@wisc.edu
608-262-5865


Schiller, Jeff
Environmental Health Manager (Fire & Life Safety)
Jeff.Schiller@wisc.edu
608-225-7693 (cell); 608-265-9080 (office)


Timm, Jason
Radiation Safety Officer (RSO)
Jason.Timm@wisc.edu
608-890-2039


Ladd, Andrea
Biological Safety Officer (BSO)
Andrea.Ladd@wisc.edu
608-263-9013 (landline); 608-575-3738 (cell)


Zebrowski, Jeff
Chemical Hygiene Officer (CHO)
Jeff.Zebrowski@wisc.edu
608-890-0993


Administrative Team

Umbeck, Paul
Department Director
Paul.Umbeck@wisc.edu
608-262-9739


Griffin, Tarlice
Administrative Assistant
Tarlice.Griffin@wisc.edu
608-890-3570 (primary); 608-265-5000 (secondary)


Animal Research Safety Team

Ensrud, Carrie
Research Safety Coordinator
Carrie.Ensrud@wisc.edu


Moon, Lisa
Risk Management Specialist Senior; Animal Research
Lisa.Moon@wisc.edu
608-886-0757


Beechler, Daniel
Risk Management Specialist Senior; Animal Research
Daniel.Beechler@wisc.edu
608-219-0772


Biosafety Team

Office of Biological Safety
biosafety@fpm.wisc.edu
608-263-2037


Ladd, Andrea
Biological Safety Officer (BSO)
Andrea.Ladd@wisc.edu
608-263-9013 (landline); 608-575-3738 (cell)


Beduhn, James
Biosafety Protocol Advisor
James.Beduhn@wisc.edu
608-622-9762


Burley, Lisa
Select Agent Specialist
Lisa.Burley@wisc.edu
608-263-2798


Demick, Karen
Biosafety Protocol Advisor
Karen.Demick@wisc.edu
608-263-9026


Krasny, Kathy
Biosafety Protocol Advisor
Kathy.Krasny@wisc.edu
608-265-0770


Kutz, Stephanie
Assistant Biological Safety Officer
Stephanie.Kutz@wisc.edu
608-622-9764


Larson, Ann
Biosafety Protocol Advisor
Ann.Larson12@wisc.edu
608-890-3469


Moritz, Rebecca
Select Agent Program Manager
Rebecca.Moritz@wisc.edu
608-890-3468


Scherf, Jacob
Risk Management Specialist Senior
Jacob.Scherf@wisc.edu
608-852-4922


Schnell, Tara
Biosafety Trainer
Tara.Schnell@wisc.edu
608-890-3471


Smith, Carrie
Biosafety Trainer
Carrie.Smith@wisc.edu
608-890-4951


Biosafety Cabinet Certification Team

Dobberfuhl, Tara
Certification & Facilities Specialist
Tara.Dobberfuhl@wisc.edu
608-535-7435


Hertel, Joseph
Certification & Facilities Specialist
Joseph.Hertel@wisc.edu
608-279-4593


Holland, Rory
Certification & Facilities Specialist
Rory.Holland@wisc.edu
608-438-6041


Levenson, Jennifer
Certification & Facilities Specialist
jennifer.levenson@wisc.edu
608-445-6417


Meier, Kristi
Certification & Facilities Specialist
Kristi.Meier@wisc.edu
608-575-7486


Olstad, Emily
Certification & Facilities Specialist
Emily.Olstad@wisc.edu
608-513-0653


Trinastic, Luci
Financial Specialist
Luci.Trinastic@wisc.edu
608-263-2706


Chemical Safety Team

Zebrowski, Jeff
Chemical Hygiene Officer (CHO)
Jeff.Zebrowski@wisc.edu
608-890-0993


Chandra, Tilak
Chemical Safety Specialist
Tilak.Chandra@wisc.edu
608-890-0255 (office)


Gibson, Nils
Chemical Safety Specialist; Chemical Safety Training
Nils.Gibson@wisc.edu
608-225-9257


Gore, Richard
Waste Management Specialist
Richard.Gore@wisc.edu
608-219-1533


Hendricks, Lucas
Waste Management Specialist
Lucas.Hendricks@wisc.edu
608-209-5224


Hinds, Joyce
Hazard Communication Coordinator; Hazard Communication Training
Joyce.Hinds@wisc.edu
608-890-3993


Lanzhammer, Timothy
Waste Management Specialist
Timothy.Lanzhammer@wisc.edu
608-220-4273


McCoy, Aaron
Chemical Safety Specialist
Aaron.McCoy@wisc.edu
608-422-1989

Spoerke, Justin
Chemical Safety Specialist
Justin.Spoerke@wisc.edu
608-301-7706


Vannieuwenhoven, Troy
Waste Management Supervisor
Troy.Vannieuwenhoven@wisc.edu
608-279-0869


Yanke, Todd
Lab Safety Coordinator; Fume Hood Use Training
Todd.Yanke@wisc.edu
608-890-0003


Zukowski, Greg
Waste Management Specialist
Greg.Zukowski@wisc.edu
608-320-0760


Engineering & Technical Services Team

Berger, Darren
Assistant Director; ETS Manager; Facilities Engineer
Darren.Berger@wisc.edu
608-263-2187 (landline); 608-209-8466 (cell)


Carlson, Donna
IS Business Automation Specialist
Donna.Carlson@wisc.edu
608-262-3278

Kraus, Dale
Biocontainment Controls Specialist
Dale.Kraus@wisc.edu
608-890-4864 (landline); 608-333-6315 (cell)


Casey Wampler
Information Process Consultant
608-890-1141
Casey.Wampler@wisc.edu


Chris Egger
Environmental Compliance Specialist
Christopher.Egger@wisc.edu
608-263-6708


Wallace, Brent
Research Facilities Engineer
Brent.Wallace@wisc.edu
608-890-3506


Fire & Life Safety Team

Schiller, Jeff
Environmental Health Manager (Fire & Life Safety)
Jeff.Schiller@wisc.edu
608-225-7693 (cell); 608-265-9080 (office)


Anderson, Derek
Environmental Health Specialist Senior
Derek.Anderson@wisc.edu
608-260-5490


Kakuske, Casey
Environmental Health Specialist
Casey.Kakuske@wisc.edu
608-381-8303


Siebert, Don
Fire Safety Specialist
Donald.Siebert@wisc.edu
608-262-5923


Vacant Fire Position
Fire Safety Specialist
608-265-0693


General & Building Safety Team

Heidel, Chris
Abatement Coordinator
Christopher.Heidel@wisc.edu
608-575-3628


Higby, Brian
Environmental Health Specialist; Abatement
Brian.Higby@wisc.edu
608-622-9765 (cell)


Smith, Doug
Workplace Safety Coordinator
Douglas.Smith@wisc.edu
608-262-9738


Stelzer, Karl
Environmental Health Specialist Senior, Workplace Safety
Karl.Stelzer@wisc.edu
608-575-6263


Lake Safety Team

Kleppe, Chris
Senior/Lifesaving Station Supervisor
Chris.Kleppe@wisc.edu
608-262-5865


Geib, Sean
EHS/Assistant Supervisor
Sean.Geib@wisc.edu
608-262-5865


Radiation Safety Team

Timm, Jason
Radiation Safety Officer (RSO)
Jason.Timm@wisc.edu
608-890-2039


Fargen, Pat
Dosimetry Program Coordinator
Pat.Fargen@wisc.edu
608-225-0020


Haas, Jon
Radiation Health Physicist
jhaas2@uwhealth.org
608-576-5182


Hays, Sam
Health Physicist
Samuel.Hays@wisc.edu
608-852-9351


Henes, Yuliya
Health Physicist Advanced; X-Rays
Yuliya.Henes@wisc.edu
608-514-6895


Kellesvig, Kurt
Health Physicist Advanced
Kurt.Kellesvig@wisc.edu
608-235-9531

Labron, Matthew
Environmental Health Specialist
Matt.Labron@wisc.edu
608-219-2657


Monson, Kate
Radiation Safety Program Specialist
Kate.Monson@wisc.edu
608-262-6511


Oseid, Elizabeth
Environmental Health Specialist
Elizabeth.Oseid@wisc.edu
608-219-2495


Rusch, Jason
Environmental Health Technician
Jason.Rusch@wisc.edu
608-616-2209


Timilsina, Bindu
Assistant Radiation Safety Officer; Lasers
Bindu.Timilsina@wisc.edu
608-262-9608


Van Zeeland, Pete
Waste Management Specialist
Peter.Vanzeeland@wisc.edu
608-225-0087


Yadro, Trenton
Health Physicist
Trenton.Yadro@wisc.edu
608-220-6648